ntwifinetwork.com is a scam


For those not already in the loop, there is a new domain name scam going on trying to trick people in to buying over priced .cn domain names.  The scam works like this:

  1. Send a threatening email
  2. Offer to sell you the .cn version of one of your names
  3. Charge boatloads of cash above market value
  4. Profit!

The message follows the format below:

To whom it may concern:          2009-6-1

We are a domain name registration service company in Asia,

Last week we received a formal application submited by Justin Lin who wanted to use the keyword  "######" to  register the Internet Brand and with suffix such as .cn /.com.cn /.net.cn/.hk/ .asia/ domain names.

After our initial examination, we found that these domain names to be applied for registration  are same as your  domain name and trademark. We aren’t sure whether you have any relation with him. Because these domain names would produce possible dispute, now we have hold down his registration, but if we do not get your company’s an reply in the next 5 working days, we will approve his company's application

In order to handle this issue better, Please contact us by Fax ,Telephone or Email as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely

Tina Checking Department Tel:   86 513 8532 2060 Fax:  86 513 8532 2065 Email:[email protected] Website: www.ntwifinetwork.com Mail No.:########

An in case you don't believe me: